Easter Food Trouble

31 03 2013

 

I am so totally gaining weight this week. Oy vey.

First, my mother makes a ham. I love me some ham. Especially with sweet potatoes, which we also made. So yesterday was yum yum yum ham time.

But then today we went out for lunch with my aunt for Easter. (They went to church. I did not. I slept, showered, and walked the dog.)

I got a bowl of tomato bisque soup with fried basil-yum yum yum. It was a little creamy and with a little fresh pepper very pleasing.

Then I got-hold the phone-a bacon cheddar burger on brioche with rum barbecue sauce and fries. I did not finish either, but not because of a lack of desire. The bacon wasn’t too crispy and tasted of wood smoke, there was garlic aioli on the side, the fries with super thin but not too crunchy…I could have eaten it all, but I took the rest home. Weight Watchers Lesson Victory!

But then came my Achilles’ heel, my kryptonite, my greatest weakness: dessert, shared with my mother. Three miniature desserts-molten chocolate cake (which is pretty common, but was very well done, topped with vanilla ice cream), peach apple cobbler (oh god, I loved it, with caramel ice cream), and lemon souffle cake thing (pleasing to the tongue, with fresh whipped cream and raspberries). I got a tingle from that dessert trio, yes I did.

Then I got home, and my godmother’s son came over on his way home (from a monastery-he’s getting really into his religion), with fast friendly apple pie. And I had some. It was also delicious.

It is almost eight o’clock. I have a chocolate bunny from Lindt, leftover burger and fries, ham and sweet potato, and more pie. I am in so much trouble.

Happy Easter, however (or if) you celebrate, everyone!

Sincerely yours,

J.J

Actions

Information

3 responses

31 03 2013
Marcella Rousseau

LOL! J.J., throw out the burger and fries. Add some green vegetables to your meals or just eat some vegetables for a couple of days (they’re all water and fiber and good for you.) Easter only comes once a year. I went overboard today too. I’ll just work out extra hard tomorrow!

1 04 2013
J.J

…I worked out, and had vegetables, but I ate the burger because I couldn’t bear to throw it away. Oh well. It’s done, and the rest of the week shall be vegetable week. And a little hummus-I love peppers and hummus. Thanks for the comment and the advice.

1 04 2013
Marcella Rousseau

Good for you! Now all I have to do is take my own advice! I’ve been so busy lately. I hope I have the time to work out tonight before it gets too late. I’ve got repair people coming tomorrow morning some time so hopefully they will be gone in time for me to go to my health club.

Leave a Reply

